Monday, June 11, 2012

Review: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross
Pages: 416
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: YA Steampunk
#2 in Series
In New York City, 1897, life has never been more thrilling - or dangerous.

Sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne and her "straynge band of mysfits" have journeyed from London to America to rescue their friend Jasper, hauled off by bounty hunters. But Jasper is in the clutches of a devious former friend demanding a trade-the dangerous device Jasper stole from him...for the life of the girl Jasper loves.

One false move from Jasper and the strange clockwork collar around Mei's neck tightens. And tightens.
Review for the First Book

Check out my review for The Girl in the Steel Corset!

Review

HOLY DEAR SWEET DIETY OF YOUR CHOOSING.
This book
was
amazing.
If you read and loved the first one, then you won't be disappointed by The Girl in the Clockwork Collar. This book is quite different, in that it takes place in New York instead of London. Jasper has been kidnapped by a former associate of his, Reno Dalton. Now, we all know Jasper is pretty bad ass, so he shouldn't have a problem getting out of this situation, right? Except Dalton has something--or someone on Jasper. Mei Xing, the woman that Jasper loves. Now Jasper is at Dalton's beck and call, because Mei has a clockwork collar around her neck that will tighten and strangle her if Jasper even so much as breaths the wrong way. It's up to the gang to save him, and they hasten their way from England to come and find him.

Let me just start by saying my respect and admiration for Finley grew a thousand fold in this book. We all knew she was pretty kick ass and a total English ninja, but in this book her two halves have come together now. She's not so Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde anymore. Now Finley can control her strength, and she puts it to good use. In order to save Jasper, she infiltrates Dalton's gang by literally beating the crap out of ever tough guy that underestimates her in a fighting club. He's impressed by her, and asks her to join his crew. I just love strong heroines, so to see one as strong as Finley kicking some butt, and not needing to be saved by anyone else, is gratifying. I seriously applaud Kady Cross for making Finley into the character she is.
Although my greatest love in this series is still Jack Dandy, whom I regret to say was not in this book at all, I do have lots of love for Griffin. He's also pretty amazing, and what I love is, while he is ultimately a gentleman and a great guy, he also has a darker, more seductive streak in him. He's got some pretty cool powers of his own, which actually get him into lethal trouble quite a bit. Fans of Griffin's and Finley's romance can finally breathe a sigh of relief at the end of this book, although, trust me, it's only the beginning of them together. And it's a very long and frustrating path to get there.

There is some crazy stuff going on in this book!
It all revolves around Dalton and what he's planning, but there's some new steampunk technology that the gang is dealing with, as well as some other really spooky stuff that I think will be dealt with later on in the series (there are going to be 5 books in total!). The plot was fast paced, and there was always something going on. What I love is that Kady Cross doesn't give everything away immediately. There are pieces of a puzzle that need to be put together, and those pieces are given to you bit by bit.

Also, let me just say that I actually really loved Dalton, in a weird, he's evil but still hot kind of way. I'm a sucker for bad boys, and Dalton is just an unapologetically bad boy. There wasn't anything actually going on between him and Finley, it's all just a ruse to save Jasper, but still, a part of me wished there was.

Who Should Read This Book?

Calling all fans of any of the following genres:
  • Steampunk
  • Historical
  • Romance
  • Action
  • Adventure
  • Mystery
Yes, it's that versatile.

Memorable Quotes

"Word is Dalton likes rough girls."
* * *
"Don't you dare die. You have to live so I can curse you up and down for scaring me like this."
* * *
"The two of you are like a twister colliding with a mountain."

Read it for yourself!

Buy the Book
Amazon
Kindle: $11.24
Hardover: $12.23

Barnes and Noble
Nook: $11.24
Hardcover: $12.84

The Book Depository (Free shipping worldwide!)
Hardcover: $12.63


About the Author
Kady Cross is a pseudonym for USA Today bestselling authorKathryn Smith. She lives in Connecticut with her husband and a pride of cats. She likes singing with Rock Band on the 360, British guys, Vietnamese food, and makeup (she’s hopelessly addicted to YouTube makeup tutorials!). When she’s not writing Kady likes to catch up on her favorite TV shows, read a good book or make her own cosmetics.
Other Books by This Author

What Other People Say

A Cupcake and a Latte
Book Labyrinth
Books With Bite

You Might Also Like...

(Covers link to Amazon)

2 comments:

  1. The Breitling Navitimer watch is a part of the a lot of replica watches accepted styles of the anytime fashionable Breitling label, which has taken men's timepieces into a new chic of elite. Using Breitling's Navitimer is simple, but acquirements to do it accurately will advice ensure your watch retains its value. Untwist the axial bulge on the appropriate ancillary of the face, affective the punch counterclockwise and out of its defended position so that it is in the ambagious position. The http://www.brearcadiacove.com bulge will pop chargeless if you accept askance far enough. Anchor the bulge and cull until you feel it bang one cleft outward. This aboriginal cleft is the ambience for the date; aberration the bulge to move the day to the able number. Know that you cannot aberration backward; if you canyon a amount you will charge to complete addition circling and acknowledgment to the actual date if you absence it the aboriginal time. Carefully anchor the bulge and cull already added to feel it achieve into the additional and extreme position. This extreme position sets the hour and minute of breitling replica your watch.Turn the bulge to move the hour duke and set the able time. Press in on the bulge adjoin the bounce until you feel it hit the base. Without removing the pressure, aberration clockwise to defended the knob. Wait to verify that your additional duke begins moving, advertence that your watch is befitting the actual time. For alarm models, the the top button will activate and stop timing, and the basal button will displace the timers. Always accumulate the paperwork that came in the watch's box in a safe location. The cartier replica consecutive amount and the affidavit will be important for repairs, resale and service. Bring your watch into the abundance for any aliment acute automated adjustments. This includes wristband alterations; models of the Navitimer were fabricated in both affiliated and solid straps. If your Navitimer has links, they will be adjustable and captivated in abode by baby pins. These pins are best removed and adapted by a jeweler or watch artisan so as not to accident the superior and amount of your Navitimer watch. Bring your alarm in for chargeless adjustments area you purchased the watch, or to addition accustomed retailer.Examine the book on the caseback. The louis vuitton replica carving on the caseback should be acutely printed with calmly authentic lettering. It should aswell be almost abysmal back these casebacks are laser-etched to burdensome standards.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is a good read and I would highly recommend it for someone looking for something funny/dramatic with some sci-fi and steampumk.

    Mariz
    website

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. I love hearing from you! Please, feel free to comment to your heart's content. :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...